top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmilee

25 in 25

Monday was my 25th birthday! It was a simple day ending in a nice, quiet dinner out with my husband. I love nice quiet dinners that I don't have to cook. Of course I didn't take any photos. I'm terrible at taking pictures of Tyler and myself.


I've been thinking quite a bit about turning 25. I feel older than 25. I think part of the reason is the fact that I already have 3 kids underfoot. Also, my husband is the youngest sibling in his family (of 7) and I'm 8 years younger than him. Naturally, I'm around moms in their 30s so it just seems as though I'm older than 25.


Anyway, I've been wanting to focus on enjoying 25. Now that I have kids I've noticed that sometimes I have trouble even remembering how old I am. I used to laugh at my mom when she would have to stop and count the years in her head when we asked how old she was on her birthday. Now I completely understand. It's funny how that happens, isn't it?


So, I have compiled a list of 25 things I want to learn, do, accomplish, and enjoy during this year. Some of these things are quite simple while others are pretty significant goals. Here it is!


1. Monthly dates with Tyler. We have had this goal for 2 years now and it always gets pushed aside. Not this year!

2. Pay off at least half of my school debt. Isn't it funny that I didn't even finish college and yet still have debt? Yeah, your right. It isn't funny.

3. Come in UNDER budget on groceries by at least $10 every month. I am determined to save!

4. Raise my voice less.

5. Hug my children more.

6. Read at least 12 books. That's just one book a month. Easy enough, right?

7. Run a 5k. This means I actually have to start running again.

8. Read scripture daily.

9. Spend 15 minutes dedicated to prayer daily.

10. Create the habit of waking before 6:30 every day.

11. Eat family breakfast at least 4 times a week.

12. Blog at least once a week.

13. Learn to hand sew.

14. Knit something other than a scarf or headband. (You know, something that actually takes a little skill.)

15. Try at least one new recipe a week.

16. Stay in budget every month for the funds I'm in charge of (groceries, household, etc.)

17. Bring all 3 of the boys baby books up to date (and keep them up to date!)

18. Take more pictures and organize my pictures on my computer. They are a mess!

19. Minimize the "stuff" we own. One room at a time!

20. Learn a new song on the piano (after it is tuned).

21. Own at least 4 house plants. We have one now, but I've really been wanting to add a few! Eventually I'd love at least one in each room but I'm confident the boys would destroy them.

22. Do at least 1 act of kindness each month with the boys.

23. Create a small freezer stock of quick meals.

24. Have a "fun day" at least once a month with the boys.

25. Host friends for dinner once a month.


Some of these are obviously more attainable than others but they are all goals nonetheless! Here's to savoring year 25!




106 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page