top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmilee

Cranberry Streusel Muffins

Updated: Jan 8, 2018

We've been fighting the dreaded stomach bug in our house this weekend, starting with me and then our 2 year old, Ezra. Since we really didn't want to spread our germs to other people, we decided to stay home from church this morning and enjoy a day of true rest.





This morning I was in the mood for some comfort food. In my world, muffins are definitely comfort food. I've had a bag of cranberries in the refrigerator for close to a month and have not known how to use them. Jude and I tried them when I brought them home from the grocery store and we both agreed--they are SOUR. I have never had cranberries before and now I know why. I thought blueberries were tart but they are quite sweet in comparison to cranberries. "Mommy, I don't like these." Me neither, buddy. Me neither.





Around Christmas I was going to make a cranberry popcorn garland with the boys and string it on our bushes outside for the birds and squirrels, but alas, that never happened. So, fast forward to me searching for ways to use up these cranberries before they go bad and I waste the money I spent on them. Enter these cranberry streusel muffins. They are delicious! They are colorful and have the perfect balance of sweet and tart. Tyler and I enjoyed them and Jude ate all but one bite of his. He stated (with just one bite left), "I don't like these muffins." Tyler said he thought he had a big bite of cranberries at the very end and that's why he decided they weren't any good. I am confident when I offer him one for breakfast tomorrow he will accept. Oh, toddlers! Ezra took just one bite, but he's still getting his appetite back. I'm sure he'll love them when he recovers completely!






Without further ado, here is the recipe! This can easily be made gluten free, as well. Just substitute the all purpose flour with a gluten free flour blend.




Cranberry Streusel Muffins (makes about 10 muffins)


Streusel Topping-

2/3 Cup Brown Sugar

2 TBS Granulated Sugar

Pinch of Salt

1/2 tsp Cinnamon

4 TBS Unsalted Butter

1/2 C All Purpose Flour (or GF flour blend)


Muffins-

1/2 Vegetable Oil

2/3 Cup Granulated Sugar

Pinch of Salt

2 Large Eggs, Beaten

1/2 Cup Sour Cream (or Greek Yogurt)

1 tsp Vanilla Extract

1 tsp Cinnamon

1/4 tsp Nutmeg

1 Cup All Purpose Flour (or GF flour blend)

1/2 tsp Baking Powder

1/4 tsp Baking Soda

3/4 Cups Fresh Cranberries (or 1 Cup, if more is desired)


1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees and line a muffin pan with liners.

2. Make the struesel in a small bowl. Add ingredients together (brown sugar, granulated sugar, salt, cinnamon, melted butter and flour) with a fork. Mixture will be thick and clumpy.

3. Next, make the muffins. In a medium bowl combine oil, sugar, and salt. Mix well. Add eggs, sour cream/yogurt, and vanilla. Stir to combine. Add cinnamon, nutmeg, baking powder, and baking soda. Once combined add flour and stir until mixed in.

4. Fold in cranberries.

5. Fill muffin tins 1/2 full with muffin mix. Add a generous tablespoon of streusel. Fill muffin tins until full with muffin mix. Sprinkle remaining streusel on the tops of each muffin.

6. Bake for 19-22 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into centers of muffins comes out clean. Let stand in pan for a few minutes before serving.


Cranberry streusel muffins go great paired with a hot cup of coffee and scrambled eggs for one tasty breakfast during these winter months. Please let me know how they turn out when you give it a go! Enjoy!


Blessings,

Emilee

22 views0 comments
bottom of page